Release Date: 2002-01-01
Loading tracks...


Nicolas Masson: saxophone
Russ Johnson: trumpet
Eivind Opsvikt: acoustic bass
Mark Ferber: drums



Album Review

Nicolas Masson's music is an open invitation to discover beauty, humor and intelligence, all framed within an inquisitive yet swinging group.
Uniquely crafted compositions are all treated with an equal amount of sophistication by each members of the 4tet, starting with the unique voice of Masson himself on the tenor saxophone. His velvety yet fully mastered tone matched by his mature harmonic and melodic sense lead us through a musical journey sprinkled with surprises and uncanny directions. Surrounded by an internationally renowned cast made of trumpeter Russ Johnson, bassist Eivind Opsvik and drummer Gerald Cleaver who each contribute to further elevate the music, bringing a truly original flavor to each song.
A true modern jazz experience, where improvisation meets the written halfway, this music is nothing short of spectacular.
- Ohad Talmor. Saxophonist, composer, Lee Konitzʼ artistic director and arranger